Forget the hard times, but not what they teach you. By Danee Kiernan of Bouncing with Style: Starting over but Not From Scratch

Standard
Danee Kienan co-author Bouncing with Style

Danee Kienan co-author Bouncing with Style

By Danee Kiernan

Life is Almost Always Good and co-author of Bouncing with Style: Starting over but Not From Scratch. #1

Life is a gift.  An incredible journey if you will. At times filled with amazing moments and at times filled with shit.  I don’t know why we are so surprised when something happens to throw us under the bus and out of orbit.  But we are.  The shitty moments so far on my journey, are numerous, exhausting, embarrassing and mind numbing.  I’m sure you can relate.

But here’s the deal, I’ve been thinking that it’s all a part of who we are, where we are and why we are.  This cycle of life might all be by design….What if it’s mandatory to go through difficult experiences in order to truly appreciate the good ones?

I have to admit, when this thought first hit me, I dropped to my knees and I began to pray in earnest….Dear God, ……I do appreciate everything….Really I do….Please no more….No more challenges…No more difficulty….No more life changing drama…Can you just make my life be OK..?? Balanced perhaps??? Just for a little while?  Please?

I was a teen bride and mom….Married at 17 with babies at 18, 19, 21, 24 and 30.  While attempting to keep my head above water, and the laundry sort of under control, I managed to enjoy my kids, work, go to school and graduate from college.  Life was tough.  Over the years, I found that I’ve forgotten most of the hard times, but not what they taught me.  I was young, energetic and filled with optimism. 

Then my world changed.   I was unhappy, divorced and alone.   Completely and utterly alone…

Well, except of course for the 5 kids, mortgage payment, 2nd mortgage, car payment, student loans, credit card bills, homework , laundry, dishes,  day care and half of the household income and furniture.  Life was suddenly very different and truth be told, I was different too.

At 34, I was the mother of 5, director in a marketing firm, in my second year of MBA classes, very single and pretty tired.  Of course, most stories begin long before the crisis and mine is no different, but my conscious ability to choose my path and be the owner of my destiny, to survive and thrive and choose my journey had just begun to bubble to the surface.  

The path I had been on, skidded, veered and spun out of control.  As a result, I was forced to redefine, reevaluate and reinvent my life.   At first I did this reluctantly (OK, I was kicking and screaming… a lot).  But then I gave in, let my hair down, unbuckled my seatbelt and went faster and farther than I ever could have imagined.  Once I introduced myself to me, I truly began to enjoy the ride.

Danee Kiernan is a writer, parent, entrepreneur and co-author of Bouncing with Style: Starting over but Not From Scratch: Starting over but Not From Scratch.  She connects with others based on her experiences as a full time woman, full time mom (adoptive, birth & foster), stay at home mom, working woman and business owner.  She hopes that sharing her experiences openly will help others to find their bounce.  Danee is a powerful advocate for women’s rights, especially every woman’s right to choose her own destiny and build the life that she desires.

Danee Kiernan earned a BS degree in Elementary Education with an early childhood specialization fromIowaWesleyanCollege, and an MBA from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. Danee believes in the importance of love, family and pursuing dreams.   She makes her home inWisconsin, where she and husband Jim, are thoroughly enjoying the experience of raising their 12 children. 

You can reach Danee Kiernan at daneeKiernan@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

