No one is going to take care of you, but you. By Danee Kiernan of Bouncing with Style: Starting over but Not From Scratch: Starting Over but Not From Scratch

Standard
Danee Kienan co-author Bouncing with Style

Danee Kienan co-author Bouncing with Style

Life is Almost Always Good and co-author of Bouncing with Style: Starting over but Not From Scratch. #3

 They say that all good (and I suppose bad) things must come to an end. And after taking the time I needed alone in my ravine, hating myself and pretty much everything else, I began to crawl out.

A voice whispered from deep inside of me one day.  I listened closely. And I heard it again.

No one is going to take of you, but you.

It was a profound moment and I realized that I hadn’t really thought much about it before or perhaps hadn’t been listening closely enough.

No one is going to take care of me, but me.

I ran this through my mind a bit to see how it felt. I said it out loud. I got a funny feeling in my stomach (OK, not really that funny but something more like anxiety and excitement infused with terror). I was accustomed to and really good at taking care of others….My children, my spouse, my clients etc.  I thought I had been taking care of myself, but maybe I hadn’t.

I looked in the mirror for confirmation and sighed….It’s hard to be strong and sure of yourself when you don’t like what you see.  Is this really what I look like?  Is this how people see me every day?  My reflection returned my gaze, worn and tired.  My hair was flat.  My eyes were droopy and dark, and my spirit was heavy.  I dug out the curling iron and wrapped it around my sagging strands.  It wasn’t much….maybe a couple of swirls, but when I looked in the mirror, I found that I looked and felt lighter….  I tried to stand up a bit straighter and hold my shoulders back. My attempt was unsuccessful…..That’s OK I heard myself say  out loud…We did enough today, maybe tomorrow.

I looked in the mirror and it smiled back.  These were the kindest words I had said to myself in quite a while.

Danee Kiernan is a writer, parent, entrepreneur and co-author of Bouncing with Style: Starting over but Not From Scratch: Starting over but Not From Scratch.  She connects with others based on her experiences as a full time woman, full time mom (adoptive, birth & foster), stay at home mom, working woman and business owner.  She hopes that sharing her experiences openly will help others to find their bounce.  Danee is a powerful advocate for women’s rights, especially every woman’s right to choose her own destiny and build the life that she desires.

Danee Kiernan earned a BS degree in Elementary Education with an early childhood specialization fromIowaWesleyanCollege, and an MBA from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. Danee believes in the importance of love, family and pursuing dreams.   She makes her home inWisconsin, where she and husband Jim, are thoroughly enjoying the experience of raising their 12 children. 

You can reach Danee Kiernan at daneeKiernan@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

