Enough about me… Let’s talk about me. By Danee Kiernan of Bouncing with Style: Starting over but Not From Scratch

Standard

By Danee Kiernan

Life is Almost Always Good and co-author of Bouncing with Style: Starting over but Not From Scratch. #4

 I

Danee Kienan co-author Bouncing with Style

Danee Kienan co-author Bouncing with Style

got the kids fed, dressed and off to school.  On my way to work, I revisited the possibility of taking care of me.  The concept was novel and the thought was…hmmm… intriguing.  I knew many women, of course, who took the time to care for themselves.  They were committed to giving back to their bodies and souls, and it showed.  In a painfully, honest moment (one of many more yet to come), I had to admit that I hadn’t really considered myself much lately at all.  And when I thought about it, it became obvious that hadn’t been paying attention for quite awhile. 

Before I got married, I had the me mindset and all the time in the world to indulge myself.  Marriage and motherhood changed that in a hurry. I was on the all too familiar path of too busy working, cleaning, paying bills and raising kids. And of course, after the divorce, I was way too busy being miserable, angry and constructing my tunnel of woe.  The realization finally hit.  Somehow and for whatever reasons, I hadn’t really connected with me in a very long time.  I wondered how I was doing….I started to feel excited at the possibility of spending some quality moments with myself.  Unfortunately, I hadn’t the slightest idea about where to begin 

What could I do for me?  What do I like to do?  What would be fun?   What do my mind, body and soul need?  Where do I start? I asked aloud. 

 “I thought you would never ask…” was the response.

 

Danee Kiernan is a writer, parent, entrepreneur and co-author of Bouncing with Style: Starting over but Not From Scratch: Starting over but Not From Scratch.  She connects with others based on her experiences as a full time woman, full time mom (adoptive, birth & foster), stay at home mom, working woman and business owner.  She hopes that sharing her experiences openly will help others to find their bounce.  Danee is a powerful advocate for women’s rights, especially every woman’s right to choose her own destiny and build the life that she desires.

Danee Kiernan earned a BS degree in Elementary Education with an early childhood specialization fromIowaWesleyanCollege, and an MBA from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. Danee believes in the importance of love, family and pursuing dreams.   She makes her home inWisconsin, where she and husband Jim, are thoroughly enjoying the experience of raising their 12 children. 

You can reach Danee Kiernan at daneeKiernan@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

