Baby Steps- By Danee Kiernan of Bouncing with Style: Starting over but Not From Scratch: Starting Over but Not From Scratch

Standard
Danee Kienan co-author Bouncing with Style

Danee Kienan co-author Bouncing with Style

By Danee Kiernan

Life is Almost Always Good and co-author of Bouncing with Style: Starting over but Not From Scratch. #8

What I didn’t know at the time, but know all too much now is that allowing myself the time to grieve, to feel and to acknowledge my emotions, made me stronger and more capable of recovering.  In a moment of clarity, I chose to move ahead.

You might be thinking….How exactly does one move ahead….Or possibly screaming…How can I even consider putting one foot in front of the other when I’m trying to deal with what I’m dealing with?  For me, it was making myself take baby steps.  I wrote my feelings down in a notebook because it felt safe to me.  It was a release of pent up emotions that tumbled out once I listened and gave them permission to do so.  I felt OK sharing my feelings with me.  The thing is, once I got here, I found that it wasn’t enough.  I felt healthier and stronger after I took my time to mourn and acknowledge my emotions but I wasn’t even close to recovered.

I think we all understand that the physical health of our bodies is completely enmeshed in our emotional health, so it made sense to me that I should/could/might begin working on my physical being while I was trying to find my bounce.

Now in all honesty, I am not an exercise lover or even an exercise doer, nor am I a health food fanatic or a yoga mama, but I do watch the news, read information and listen to experts when they share their knowledge about what is better for the human body.  And since I am in a human body, I figure that I am included in the humans that they are referring to.  I knew that healthy, whole food was a much better choice than my high fat potato chips, soda, coffee and red wine (which it turns out, is not meant to be gulped by the bottle). 

The fact is different people react to stress in different ways and each of us have developed our own habits for coping….Some overeat, some don’t eat, some over exercise, some don’t exercise, some drink too much, some become controlling towards others, some become promiscuous, some sleep 20 hours a day…The list goes on and on. 

You know what you do during the difficult times in your life and I know what I do….

Danee Kiernan is a writer, parent, entrepreneur and co-author of Bouncing with Style: Starting over but Not From Scratch: Starting over but Not From Scratch.  She connects with others based on her experiences as a full time woman, full time mom (adoptive, birth & foster), stay at home mom, working woman and business owner.  She hopes that sharing her experiences openly will help others to find their bounce.  Danee is a powerful advocate for women’s rights, especially every woman’s right to choose her own destiny and build the life that she desires.

Danee Kiernan earned a BS degree in Elementary Education with an early childhood specialization fromIowaWesleyanCollege, and an MBA from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. Danee believes in the importance of love, family and pursuing dreams.   She makes her home inWisconsin, where she and husband Jim, are thoroughly enjoying the experience of raising their 12 children. 

You can reach Danee Kiernan at daneeKiernan@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

