There is an End to the Journey, but in the End, It’s The Journey That Matters- By Danee Kiernan of Bouncing with Style: Starting over but Not From Scratch: Starting Over but Not From Scratch

Standard

 

Danee Kienan co-author Bouncing with Style

Danee Kienan co-author Bouncing with Style

By Danee Kiernan

Life is Almost Always Good and co-author of Bouncing with Style: Starting over but Not From Scratch. #10

I would love to tell you that wishing for recovery was enough to make it happen.  If this was true, I’m embarrassed to say, I would be the first push everyone down and skip in line. 

It’s OK to wish.  I think it’s healthy to wish, to hope and to dream.  But stopping there and sitting back to enjoy the fruits of your non-labor will not result in the positive momentum you need to get healthier, stronger and full of bounce.  Few wishes come true by themselves.   It stinks, but it’s the truth.

So we have to keep going.  A key to recovery is to keep going.  When you can’t get out of bed, or walk into work, or feed your kids, or look at yourself in the mirror, you owe it to yourself to take a baby step.  Do not hate yourself for backsliding along this journey.  Do not berate yourself for taking the time you need to get where you want to be. You are a work in progress.  Any tiny step that you manage to eek out to advance your journey toward where you want to be, is a step in the right direction.

There is an end to the journey, but in the end, it’s the journey that matters. This statement is a powerful one for me.  I have it hanging in my office. It touches my heart.

My writings thus far have been about the divorce and aftermath that I experienced 14 years ago.  It was a crazy time for me, filled with disappointment, guilt, excitement and shame.  Part of me was ecstatic that I was finally free and part of me was a scared little kid lost in the confusion.  I feel fortunate that I made it through and managed to drag my children along with me.  When I think about that event now, it no longer has the emotional impact that it had at the time. It is no longer threatening, imposing and all encompassing.  Now when I look back, I realize that for me, it was the journey that mattered most. 

My journey of loss and recovery taught me strategies that have helped me to survive and (eventually) thrive emotionally.  At the time, I felt like that divorce was the hardest thing I would ever have to endure. The thought that I would need to tap into those bounce strategies again in my lifetime, never even entered mind.

Danee Kiernan is a writer, parent, entrepreneur and co-author of Bouncing with Style: Starting over but Not From Scratch: Starting over but Not From Scratch.  She connects with others based on her experiences as a full time woman, full time mom (adoptive, birth & foster), stay at home mom, working woman and business owner.  She hopes that sharing her experiences openly will help others to find their bounce.  Danee is a powerful advocate for women’s rights, especially every woman’s right to choose her own destiny and build the life that she desires.

Danee Kiernan earned a BS degree in Elementary Education with an early childhood specialization fromIowaWesleyanCollege, and an MBA from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. Danee believes in the importance of love, family and pursuing dreams.   She makes her home inWisconsin, where she and husband Jim, are thoroughly enjoying the experience of raising their 12 children. 

You can reach Danee Kiernan at daneeKiernan@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

