I am the Shit By Sandra Beck of Bouncing with Style: Starting over but Not From Scratch

Standard
Sandra Beck  co-author Bouncing with Style

Sandra Beck co-author Bouncing with Style

Starting Over but Not from Scratch and author of Bouncing with Style. #11.

With my “do not stand down” mission completed, I was very happy to trot home and call my Navy Seal friend and report my success.   He gave me two new tasks for the week.  I was beginning to like this training.  Though the talk and sob of talk therapy was helpful in relieving my feelings, this new program was giving me active tasks where I could see a marked improvement.  I had share with my Navy Seal that I was uncomfortable going to the kid’s sports events because they are there and often prevent me from hugging or even saying hello to my kids because its “their” time.

 

Of course when I mean “their” I mean “her” because my ex was usually busy on the field trying to prove his balding manhood.  Insert bitter giggle here.  But it bothered me that she wouldn’t let me hug my toddler or even speak to him. Its was tangible proof that her interest in me was purely about spite and competition, not about love and motherhood.  So I was given my next task and this was a doosy.  I wasn’t sure if I could do it, but every morning he asked me to get up and look in the mirror and say, “I am the Shit.”

 

Vulgar, yes.  Effective, yes.  It always made me smile and it always made me feel powerful.  Eventually I started to believe it.  So my new task was to sit down next to the girlfriend, play with my kid and give her a message.  The message he said needed to be delivered carefully, quietly, respectfully and without menace.  Without menace? I was being trained by a Seal remember? He was all about the menace.  But like a good little student I took notes on posture, word choice, thoughtful pauses and my message to the girlfriend.   I was ready to go and Saturday was looming larger and larger as I practiced.

 

Internet Brand Strategist Sandra Beck, owner of Motherhood Incorporated is also the host of Motherhood Talk Radio and Military Mom Talk Radio powered by Toginet Communications.  A powerful advocate for mothers’ right to choose what is best for their family and using technology to make those choices possible, Sandra Beck paves the way for women today to determine the course of their own lives and live their best possible life.  Sandra Beck makes her home inActon,California. She is the single mother of two young boys, Max and Zachary Levin and she is the author of The Smart Woman’s Guide to Working from Home and Blogphoria – How to Reach Millions without Spending a Dime.

 

Sandra Beck has authored a Life Coaching Lesson Series  titled  Starting Over but Not From Scratch and author of Bouncing with Style. based on her experience as a stay at home mother, full time working mother, part time working mother and self employed mother working from home.  It is her hope that these articles help women create their own life with respect to their needs of themselves and their family.  These articles are offered for informational purposes only and are not intended to take the place of a licensed professional.

 

Leave a Reply

