The Art of Listening-By Danee Kiernan of Bouncing with Style: Starting Over but Not From Scratch

Standard
Danee Kienan co-author Bouncing with Style

Danee Kienan co-author Bouncing with Style

By Danee Kiernan

Life is Almost Always Good and co-author of Bouncing With Style. #15

 

Reach inside yourself and dip deeply into your thoughts and emotions.  You have to sink in like into a sweet, soft mattress….Let yourself feel and acknowledge the fact that you have feelings… right or wrong….good or bad…..scary or overwhelming….They exist.

I’ve had some crazy feelings during my painful times.  Some that I am ashamed to mention.  Some that scared me then…(and still do)…And I’m sure, some that would scare you if I shared them….What I’ve decided is that I cannot control my feelings….They are what they are. 

What I can and should control is what I do with those feelings.  How I react or don’t react to them.  How I manage them.  How I think about what they tell me. How I use them to learn more about myself. How I need to accept their existence so that I can move on and recover.

In the beginning phase of recovery, I feel it’s important to just feel.  Try not to worry about if it’s OK to feel a certain way…..Try not to analyze what you are feeling…Try not to change what you are feeling….those things will come.  Just listen to yourself.  Feel but don’t act or react immediately.

Part of recovery is getting in touch with yourself.  You have been injured.  With an emotional injury you may not see the bruise or blood physically, but your pain exists and it is real.  Just like you would clean a wound, bandage it and give it time to heal, your emotions deserve and require the same kind of attention.

 

Danee Kiernan is a writer, parent, entrepreneur and co-author of Bouncing with Style: Starting over but Not From Scratch.  She connects with others based on her experiences as a full time woman, full time mom (adoptive, birth & foster), stay at home mom, working woman and business owner.  She hopes that sharing her experiences openly will help others to find their bounce.  Danee is a powerful advocate for women’s rights, especially every woman’s right to choose her own destiny and build the life that she desires.

Danee KIernan earned a BS degree in Elementary Education with an early childhood specialization from Iowa Wesleyan College, and an MBA from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. Danee believes in the importance of love, family and pursuing dreams.   She makes her home in Wisconsin, where she and husband Jim, are thoroughly enjoying the experience of raising their 12 children. 

You can reach Danee Kiernan at daneekiernan@gmail.com

 

Leave a Reply

